In this heat?!

Happy Summer. Notice there’s no exclamation point. Haha, don’t get too worried. Let’s just say that the commute to school (yes, I’m STILL working) and the unrelenting heat is taking a toll on me. But, behold! The greatest invention known to man (okay, air conditioning is the greatest, but that’s not really an option here).

So I shelled out the 20€ for about 20 days of cool comfort… though really that’s just 1€ a day to be sweat-free! Pretty good deal when you think about how much air conditioning is. And I think it will make a nice parting gift for my roommate, haha. Plus, it really is dangerously hot here. My apartment doesn’t really get a good airflow, and it’s looking to be in the 90s and 100s for awhile.

At this point, you’re thinking, “Is she really making an entire post about her fan?” Well, no. But I am very excited about it. I don’t have too much to say though. I hadn’t posted in a while and just wanted to share a couple of things. My last day teaching the kids was last Friday. It was a bit sad, especially since many of the 1st graders kept asking if I was coming back. But they’ll grow to love another English speaker. I will be working at the school until the 30th though, helping out teachers with whatever they need. Today I spent a decent chunk of time tearing down posters (well, I was a bit gentler). I will be traveling this weekend though! It has been awhile since I ventured off, but it will be a great chance to escape this weather. I’m visiting San Sebastian, which is in the north of Spain near the border of France. I’ve had a lot of friends visit the place, and they have loved it. In fact, the professor who wrote me a letter of recommendation for this program had visited and insisted I go. So now I am, Dr. Goodman!

Hope everyone had a great weekend, Father’s Day, and start to the summer. I’m a bit sad I’ll be missing the 4th of July, but I’ll try to find some way to make up for it. I’ll be U.S. bound in less than a month, and it’s starting to hit me a bit more since I’ve had to say goodbye to some friends. I’ve got some sentimental, reflective posts coming up because that’s always how I start feeling towards the end of things, and of course, I’ll share some photos from my trip this weekend. ¡Un saludo!

One thought on “In this heat?!

  1. Tia Julie says:

    I thought about you this morning when I looked at the weather for Madrid and saw the horrible temperatures you will suffer over the next few days/weeks? The heat index in good ‘ole Southeast Missouri has been hovering near the 100 mark the last few days. It is bittersweet to say goodbye to students, but know that they are extremely resilient. Take care of yourself in the heat and can’t wait to see pics of your next adventure!

    Like

Leave a Reply

