Pomegranate?

From the comfort of my bed, I’m here to bring you some mid-week entertainment. This past weekend I traveled with some friends to the city of Granada, which is in the south of Spain. I haven’t gotten to travel much within Spain yet, so this was a great opportunity to see how different other cities are. My friends who have traveled around Spain have all said that the North and South are quite different from each other and also very different from the big city of Madrid, which is smack dab in the middle of the country. Things definitely seemed more relaxed and easy-going in Granada, and the countryside, hills, and mountains were absolutely beautiful. It was also great to see some green again. Oh, and “granada” is the Spanish word for “pomegranate.” Something I didn’t realize until one day my roommate was eating one. Though the origin of the city’s name may not be that simple… see here.

There was plenty of ice cream to be found in this hot city. These fruit carvings were pretty impressive!

There was plenty of ice cream to be found in this hot city. These fruit carvings were pretty impressive!

Eventually, wandered towards the Cathedral. Maybe not the most impressive one I've seen, but I'm still always amazed at how these were built hundreds of years ago.

Eventually, we wandered towards the Cathedral. Maybe not the most impressive one I’ve seen, but I’m still always amazed at how these were built hundreds of years ago.

And then some sort of fashion show started happening, which was not exactly ideal on this windy day.

And then some sort of fashion show started happening, which was not exactly ideal on this windy day.

We also found a nice park named after Federico García Lorca, a poet and playwright from just outside of Granada.

We also found a nice park named after Federico García Lorca, a poet and playwright from just outside of Granada.

Stopped and smelled the roses. They smelled pretty good!

Stopped and smelled the roses.

And the colors were amazing.

And the colors were amazing.

This was just the start of this flower-filled city.

This was just the start of this flower-filled city.

Gotta say that the crosswalks cracked me up. You can't quite tell from the photo, but the green man looks like he's doing the worm with his arms.

Gotta say that the crosswalks cracked me up. You can’t quite tell from the photo, but the green man looks like he’s doing the worm with his arms.

Spotted Bar Manolo and had a good laugh with one of my friends. There's a Bar Manolo in the small town we work in (though I'm sure it's not THAT uncommon of a name).

Spotted Bar Manolo and had a good laugh with one of my friends. There’s a Bar Manolo in the small town we work in (though I’m sure it’s not THAT uncommon of a name).

Eventually, we found out this was actually a door not a random mirror.

Eventually, we found out this was actually a door not a random mirror.

I'd love a view like this out of my apartment window!

I’d love a view like this out of my apartment window!

Don't worry, my pale self had plenty of sunscreen on.

Don’t worry, my pale self had plenty of sunscreen on.

And suddenly there was a procession.

And suddenly there was a procession.

Slowly eased my way past this bull...

Slowly eased my way past this bull…

And then live music! These guys were pretty good.

And then live music! These guys were pretty good.

White walls + balconies + fresh flowers = perfect.

White walls + balconies + fresh flowers = perfect

After a bit of a hike, we made it to a look-out point and were able to see the Alhambra.

After a bit of a hike, we made it to a look-out point and were able to see the Alhambra.

Then we decided that rather to walk down a hill then back up, splitting a taxi three ways would be much easier. We arrived at the Alhambra and started the tour in the Generalife. And here's a baby pomegranate tree!

Then we decided that rather than walk down a hill then back up another, splitting a taxi three ways would be much easier. We arrived at the Alhambra and started the tour in the Generalife. And here’s a baby pomegranate tree!

The Generalife is a garden next to the Alhambra. And the Alhambra is a fortress/palace/citadel/whatever you want to call it originally inhabited by the Moors then later taken over by the Spanish monarchs.

The Generalife is a garden next to the Alhambra. And the Alhambra is a fortress/palace/citadel/whatever you want to call it originally inhabited by the Moors then later taken over by the Spanish monarchs.

Oh if only I could take pictures of this place without any people in them.

Oh if only I could take pictures of this place without any people in them.

Everyone out of my photo.

Everyone out of my photo.

I was very tempted to take an orange. But I'd probably be arrested for that or something.

I was very tempted to take an orange. But I’d probably be arrested for that or something.

I could have spent all day in this garden taking pictures.

I could have spent all day in this garden taking pictures.

A person-less shot?!

A person-less shot?!

We had perfect weather for our visit too.

We had perfect weather for our visit too.

And so starts the architecture.

And so starts the architecture.

dunno

Arches EVERYWHERE.

dfd

My future backyard, right?

This water came from the springs from that mountain over yonder (Sierra Nevadas).

This water came from the springs from that mountain over yonder (Sierra Nevadas).

Palace of Charles V.

Palace of Charles V.

Our tour guide inside the palace. This guy was pretty impressive. He basically did the tour in 3 languages, English, French, and Spanish.

Our tour guide inside the palace. This guy was pretty impressive. He basically did the tour in 3 languages, English, French, and Spanish. And knew some Arabic.

Look at that view!

Look at that view!

I really love the intricacies of Islamic architecture. Amazing to think this was all carved by hand.

I really love the intricacies of Islamic architecture. Amazing to think this was all carved by hand.

They sure do love their reflecting pools.

They sure do love their reflecting pools.

Our tour guide had us all try to say this phrase in Arabic. I failed. Translates to "God is the only Victor."

Our tour guide had us all try to say this phrase in Arabic. I failed. Translates to “God is the only victor.”

Been awhile since I had a ceiling pic, right?

Been awhile since I had a ceiling pic, right?

Dat symmetry.

Dat symmetry.

There's a bit of mystery to this lion fountain because idolatry is prohibited in Islam, but here they're apparently seen as simply a support for the basin of water.

There’s a bit of mystery to this lion fountain because idolatry is prohibited in Islam, but here they’re apparently seen as simply a support for the basin of water.

A plaque to Washington Irving Tales of the Alhambra. He actually lived in the palace while writing it.

A plaque to Washington Irving who wrote Tales of the Alhambra. He actually lived in the palace while writing it.

The walk back to the city center was just as pretty.

The walk back to the city center was just as pretty.

Our hostel was close to this street full of souvenirs, gifts, trinkets, etc. from Morocco. I might have bought some things... We were also able to eat Moroccan food and drink Moroccan tea, and I loved it!

Our hostel was close to this street full of souvenirs, gifts, trinkets, etc. from Morocco. I might have bought some things… We were also able to eat Moroccan food and drink Moroccan tea, and I loved it!

Had half a mind to buy one of these lamps, but I had a feeling they wouldn't survive the trip back to the U.S.

Had half a mind to buy one of these lamps, but I had a feeling they wouldn’t survive the trip back to the U.S.

This trip definitely made me excited to go plan some more trips to other cities in Spain. I’m hoping to visit Seville soon, which happens to be the sister city of Kansas City! A short and painless rest of the week to all my readers y un besito.

One thought on “Pomegranate?

  1. Dad says:

    Thanks for the tour of Granada, Sweetie.

    Like

Leave a Reply

