Canal Gals

Two weekends ago I was in Amsterdam with my friend Leigh, who I’ve mentioned before. We had all the major sightseeing planned out, but so did everyone else. Even with advance tickets, we still faced lines upon lines upon lines. Much of the trip was spent waiting to see things, but we did pick a great weekend to see the tulips in bloom. Amsterdam is a really cool place. I love the canals and boathouses, and the red light district is certainly something strange. Also, never in my life have I seen so many bikes. Get ready for a bunch of tulip pictures!

And so it begins! Canal houses are pretty cool. Each one is a little different, but somehow they work together.

And so it begins! Canal houses are pretty cool. Each one is a little different, but somehow they work together.

Started off the trip with a canal cruise to get acquainted with the city.

Started off the trip with a canal cruise to get acquainted with the city.

These are the

These are the “dancing houses” since they’re so askew. I guess they’re structurally sound???

I think these two were called the

I think these two were called the “father and son” houses since the one on the right looks like a smaller version of the white shuttered house.

There's an interesting mix of restaurants in Amsterdam. A lot of Asian food and a lot of Steakhouse/Pizza combo restaurants. Order the lemon chicken and get free entertainment with a dialogue between sour and sweet! This Chinese restaurant was really good though.

There’s an interesting mix of restaurants in Amsterdam. A lot of Asian food and a lot of Steakhouse/Pizza combo restaurants. Order the lemon chicken and get free entertainment with a dialogue between sour and sweet! This Chinese restaurant was really good though.

So apparently there are two

So apparently there are two “I amsterdam” signs…

Discovered a cat at our hostel. He even had his own bed contraption.

Discovered a cat at our hostel. He even had his own bed contraption.

And so the tulips begin...

And so the tulips begin…

There are other flowers than just tulips at the Keukenhof gardens.

There are other flowers than just tulips at the Keukenhof gardens.

But there are basically tulips in every color.

But there are basically tulips in every color.

Grandma, this one made me think of you! Not quite yellow roses but still very pretty.

Grandma, this one made me think of you! Not quite yellow roses but still very pretty.

This was the

This was the “selfie” station. Social media has really gone places.

One of my favorite shots.

One of my favorite shots.

Yay windmills! What's a trip to the Netherlands without seeing a windmill?

Yay windmills! What’s a trip to the Netherlands without seeing a windmill?

Rows on rows.

Rows on rows.

Too many tulip photos, not enough captions.

Too many tulip photos, not enough captions.

Landscaping idea, Dad?

Landscaping idea, Dad?

Are you sick of tulips yet?

Are you sick of tulips yet?

How are they this bright?!

How are they this bright?!

A soothing alternative to vibrant red.

A soothing alternative to vibrant red.

These tulips reminded me of that button candy you have to peel off paper.

These tulips reminded me of that button candy you have to peel off paper.

All right, here's the last one. Then we're moving on.

All right, here’s the last one. Then we’re moving on.

Not that exciting of an exterior, but it's what's inside that counts, right?

Not that exciting of an exterior, but it’s what’s inside that counts, right?

About the only photo I was allowed to take. Can't say I'm a fan of Van Gogh's early work (think dark peasant paintings), but his later work is amazing. Sadly, this was at a very strange and difficult time in his life.

About the only photo I was allowed to take. Can’t say I’m a fan of Van Gogh’s early work (think dark peasant paintings), but his later paintings are amazing. Sadly, this was at a very strange and difficult time in his life.

This little one decided to take a dip.

This little one decided to take a dip.

And here is

And here is “I amsterdam” sign 2 of 2. This one is near the museums, the other is at the airport.

Stopped for a bite to eat, and yes I am the type of person who takes pictures of her food.

Stopped for a bite to eat, and yes I am the type of person who takes pictures of her food.

This was the cute market style place we ate at. I love finding places like this. So many options!

This was the cute market style place we ate at. I love finding places like this. So many options!

And then I saw this happy corgi. Day made.

And then I saw this happy corgi. Day made.

Still can't get enough of these canals and the unique houses. The hooks at the top are used to hoist furniture into the house since the stairways are so narrow.

Still can’t get enough of these canals and the unique houses. The hooks at the top are used to hoist furniture into the house since the stairways are so narrow.

We waited almost 2 hours to see the Anne Frank House, but I knew I couldn't leave Amsterdam without seeing it.

We waited almost 2 hours to see the Anne Frank House, but I knew I couldn’t leave Amsterdam without seeing it.

It was really strange to be in the actual rooms where Anne, her family, and eventually another family and man hid. It really made me appreciate being able to have the freedom to live in my house comfortably and go about my day as I want.

It was really strange to be in the actual rooms where Anne, her family, and eventually another family and man hid. It really made me appreciate being able to have the freedom to live in my apartment comfortably and go about my day as I want.

Ended the trip with a relaxing evening walking through the canals again.

Ended the trip with a relaxing evening walking through the canals again.

A man with a very nice camera and tripod was stationed here taking what I'm guessing was a time lapse photo. Meanwhile, I grabbed a quick shot with my old phone haha.

A man with a very nice camera and tripod was stationed here taking what I’m guessing was a long exposure photo. Meanwhile, I grabbed a quick shot with my old phone, haha.

Canal Gals. Enough said.

Canal Gals. Enough said.

I would definitely recommend Amsterdam as a place to visit. I’m sure if you go at a different time of the year it won’t be so crazy, but I still recommend buying any tickets you can in advance, i.e. Van Gogh museum, Anne Frank house, Keukenhof (though this is limited to mid-March to mid-May). And take a canal cruise!

It has been very hot and dry here back in Madrid. Over 90 degrees! Tomorrow we have a brief respite with a high of 75, but then it shoots up to the 80s. And never have my allergies been so bad! I’ve started some new medicine, but I’m not quite sure it’s doing the trick. Anyway, hope everyone else is having better weather. Tomorrow is a holiday, so I have the day off and a nice, long 4-day weekend, wooooooo! I’m headed to Granada, a town in the south of Spain, with some friends, and of course I will have pictures to share. ¡Nos vemos!

2 thoughts on “Canal Gals

  1. Dad says:

    Amazing flower pics!

    Like

  2. John Mason says:

    I am glad you enjoyed the visit. Your grandmother and I were there in September. No waiting lines. Look forward to seeing you later this year.

    Like

Leave a Reply

