Bienvenidos

So I’ve shared my trip to London with my parents, but that was just part one of their adventure. As I mentioned, I returned back to Madrid while my mom and dad ventured to Paris. The day before their flight to Madrid, they found out that French Air Traffic Control decided to go on strike… So hundreds of flights were not just delayed but cancelled, including theirs. I was worried they would never make it here, which would not only have been a bummer to not see them again, but their flight back to the States was also leaving from Madrid. In the end, everything worked out. They were able to take a flight the same day, but much later, and eventually made it into the city. Being the organized (and slightly neurotic) person I am, I made my parents a guide to Madrid, filled with places to see, eat, and avoid. I also threw in some Spanish lingo and general tips. Madrid isn’t like Paris or London in terms of a plethora of places to visit and see. Instead, it’s more of a cultural experience and taking it easy. I’m sure my parents were fine with that after running around two other big European cities. I didn’t take too many photos since I did months ago when I first arrived, so instead, I’m sharing my mom’s wonderful photos. If you think my photos were any good, these are 10x better!

Took my parents to the 100 Montaditos after they visited the Prado Museum and I got off work. It's a chain restaurant, but you gotta go at least once. Plus it's super cheap!

Took my parents to the 100 Montaditos after they visited the Prado Museum and I got off work. It’s a chain restaurant, but you gotta go at least once. Plus it’s super cheap!

Got ourselves a big plate full of little sandwiches. Pretty sure this meal was less than 20€ for all of us.

Got ourselves a big plate full of little sandwiches. Pretty sure this meal was less than 20€ for all of us.

Cruising the streets of Madrid (feat. Dad and me).

Cruising the streets of Madrid (feat. Dad and me).

Typical day in Madrid.

Typical day in Madrid.

One of several

One of several “mercados” or markets in Madrid full of different types of Spanish food.

Madrid isn't exactly the best place to get paella (it's a Valencian dish), but this one wasn't too bad.

Madrid isn’t exactly the best place to get paella (it’s a Valencian dish), but this one wasn’t too bad.

Ham. EVERYWHERE.

Ham. EVERYWHERE.

Always time to

Always time to “tomar algo” (get a drink).

My parents got to meet my roommate, Carmen! They couldn't understand each other much, but I helped bridge the gap, and later Carmen kept telling me how nice they were :)

My parents got to meet my roommate, Carmen! They couldn’t understand each other much, but I helped bridge the gap, and later Carmen kept telling me how nice they were 🙂

Made our way to Plaza Mayor, where you can see quite a few characters.

Made our way to Plaza Mayor, where you can see quite a few characters.

This statue is actually a man. I read an article on a flight once about him. He's done some really cool work! Looks like he's floating, but there's really a board underneath him that he's lying on.

This statue is actually a man. I read an article on a flight once about him. He’s done some really cool work! Looks like he’s floating, but there’s really a board underneath him that he’s lying on.

No trip to Madrid is complete without going to Retiro Park.

No trip to Madrid is complete without going to Retiro Park.

Mom being sneaky and snatching a photo of my dad and I relaxing.

Mom was being sneaky and snatched a photo of my dad and me relaxing.

Saw the Royal Palace as well.

Saw the Royal Palace as well.

The gardens in between the Royal Palace and Royal Theatre. This pose was not planned.

The gardens in between the Royal Palace and Royal Theatre. This pose was not planned. Sometimes it freaks me out how alike we act!

Of course we got tapas. I was

Of course we got tapas. I was “la jefa” (the boss) of the table, but I was proud of the Spanish my parents used to order!

When I first got to Madrid, I was able to see a flamenco show. Wanted to make sure my parents could too.

When I first got to Madrid, I was able to see a flamenco show. Wanted to make sure my parents could too.

My dad was a bit worried that we would have to dance, but he was safe in his seat.

My dad was a bit worried that we would have to dance, but he was safe in his seat.

Flamenco shows can be pretty intense, but we all enjoyed it.

Flamenco shows can be pretty intense, but we all enjoyed it.

And finally, we made sure to get churros y chocolate at San Ginés, a famous chocolatería.

And finally, we made sure to get churros y chocolate at San Ginés, a famous chocolatería.

I’m super glad my parents got to see where I live. It didn’t actually feel all too strange to have them here, and I was happy to show them around. I feel like I could be an unofficial tour guide if needed. Hit me up if you want that guide to Madrid, haha! Maybe I’ll offer it at a discount…

Stay tuned for some more pics from my recent trip to Amsterdam. ¡Hasta luego!

2 thoughts on “Bienvenidos

  1. Dad says:

    And yes, everyone, that is a coffee cup full of chocolate. Diane and I had a great time. Lauren was a Jefa fantastica. We were worn out by the time we got home. Next, we are looking forward to our girl coming home!

    Like

  2. Gail Pearson says:

    Dat cross legged pose 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

