I’M GETTING MARRIED!

Hope that title got everyone’s attention. It’s my lame April Fools’ joke considering that I don’t get to celebrate it here. But really, I wanted to share some photos from my recent trip to Mallorca, an island off the coast of Spain in the Mediterranean. It’s Semana Santa here, and I spent the first part of my vacation at the beach! Tomorrow, I leave for London to see my parents, who I haven’t seen for 7 months. The last time I hadn’t seen their faces for that long I was in the womb. I’m sure the weather in London isn’t going to be as stellar as the Mediterranean, but I’m very excited to see this city with so much to do and of course my parents. We’ll be there until Monday, then my parents will be stopping in Paris for a bit, and finally ending in Madrid where the weather should be lovely. Don’t worry, there will be plenty of pictures to share later.

We arrived at night, so seeing this in the morning was heaven.

We arrived at night, so seeing this in the morning was heaven.

I don't think I've ever seen bluer water in my life.

I don’t think I’ve ever seen bluer water in my life.

Of course, an island drink was a must.

Of course, an island drink was a must.

We decided to rent bikes for the day to ride along the coastline and visit the center.

We decided to rent bikes for the day to ride along the coastline and visit the center.

We saw this place in the distance and wanted to visit. Unfortunately, we came right before the high season, and it wasn't open yet. It was nice that the island wasn't very crowded, but many places were either not open or had shortened hours.

We saw this place in the distance and wanted to visit. Unfortunately, we came right before the high season, and it wasn’t open yet. It was nice that the island wasn’t very crowded, but many places were either not open or had shortened hours.

As much as I wanted to dive in, the water was still pretty cold.

As much as I wanted to dive in, the water was still pretty cold.

We all thought the cathedral looked like a sand castle!

We all thought the cathedral looked like a sand castle!

So many cute apartments in the center. I wish mine was this cute.

So many cute apartments in the center.

Also wanted to steal one of these boats. I do have a boating license... for Missouri.

Also wanted to steal one of these boats. I do have a boating license… for Missouri.

We biked about 18 miles, which was quite a workout. I think a bike ride to the center and back was a bit much, but the views were great! My butt definitely hurt for a few days after.

We biked about 18 miles, which was quite a workout. I think a bike ride to the center and back was a bit much, but the views were great! My butt definitely hurt for a few days after.

Caught the sunset before we headed off to dinner.

Caught the sunset before we headed off to dinner.

The next day we found a little cove to spend a few hours in.

The next day we found a little cove to spend a few hours in.

It would be great to come back in the summer and actually get to swim in the sea. Some people (mainly kids) were brave enough to jump in.

It would be great to come back in the summer and actually get to swim in the sea. Some people (mainly kids) were brave enough to jump in.

Stopped at a McDonald's for a McFlurry and had to laugh at the font choice for this sign. Also, that is not

Stopped at a McDonald’s for a McFlurry and had to laugh at the font choice for this sign. Also, that is not “gracias” spelled incorrectly. It’s “thank you” in Catalan.

Another great sunset!

Another great sunset!

I will miss the palm trees, but I'm sure I'll be seeing them soon because I'm hoping to get to Greece or Italy at some point.

I will miss the beachy views, but I’m sure I’ll be seeing them soon because I’m hoping to get to Greece or Italy at some point.

Before I caught my flight back, I had a quick sandwich while enjoying a last glimpse at this beautiful island.

Before I caught my flight back, I had a quick sandwich while enjoying a last glimpse at this beautiful island.

I’d love to come back in the summer and rent a car. There was still so much of the island we didn’t see, and we only spent about 2 full days there. Hope everyone is having a great start to spring, Happy Easter, and hasta luego!

5 thoughts on “I’M GETTING MARRIED!

  1. Dad says:

    We land at 11 am. So see you in just under three hours.

    Like

  2. dcmason83 says:

    Can’t wait to start planning your wedding; maybe it should be a destination wedding in Mallorca. Also can’t wait to meet my future son-in-law. Bread stick, baguette or donut?

    Like

  3. Julie Davis says:

    You are living the dream!! Have a great time with your mom and dad. I can’t wait to see more pics from your travels with them. Julie

    Like

  4. Cindy Himmelberg says:

    Hope you’re having fun with your parents! Can’t wait for the photos!!

    Like

  5. […] pictures from my trip to London! During Semana Santa (basically my Spring Break), I first went to Mallorca then later met my parents in London. I hadn’t seen them in 7 months, yet with the ability to […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

