Weekend Mini Adventure

Hi, everyone. This weekend I decided to stop being a bum and go to some places in Madrid I had never been before. I also wanted to enjoy the good weather before it starts raining the rest of the week. I’ve been itching to go on a trip but spent big bucks planning out my “Semana Santa” trip (Easter break). So this weekend, anything I could do that was relatively cheap or free sounded good to me. Plus, it’s been awhile since I spent some time wandering around Madrid. Still amazes me how different the city can look depending on where you are.

On Saturday, I checked out Parque Juan Carlos I. It’s along the metro line I take every day to work, and I was curious what was out there. This park is near the metro stop “Campo de las Naciones,” and in the mornings a ton of businessmen and women get off here. Well as soon as you walk out of the station, there is giant building for international trade/business/conventions/boring stuff. A couple minutes down the street is the park. It’s a pretty huge park that’s very bike and family friendly. The park has a fairly eclectic design. One part is wide open with grass and water features, another is more wooded with picnic tables and playgrounds, then there are modern art sculptures and strange plants.

Solar panel pyramid. The first of many strange and random architectural features in the park, but hey this has a function!

Solar panel pyramid. The first of many strange and random architectural features in the park, but hey, this has a function!

Look at that nice green water.

Look at that nice green water.

Decided to lie in the grass for a little bit. It was pretty nice grass, the type that you don't worry about getting mud or dog poop all over you once you sit down.

Decided to lie in the grass for a little bit. It was pretty nice grass, the type that you don’t worry about getting mud or dog poop all over you once you sit down.

And then there were palm trees?

And then there were palm trees?

And bamboo. There were some strange plants within this sort of greenhouse/botanical garden.

And bamboo. There were some strange plants within this sort of greenhouse/botanical garden.

This looks like a great plant to fall into.

This looks like a great plant to fall into.

ART. Okay...

ART. Okay…

And this might be my favorite. And by that, I mean I hate it.

And this might be my favorite. And by that, I mean I hate it.

Later, I met up with a friend to check out a food truck festival cleverly called “MadrEAT.” It was a bit pricey, though to be expected in the neighborhood it took place. I had a cupcake (I’ve made better), some tacos (yay Mexican), cheesecake (not what I would call cheesecake), and a beer (the Spanish could learn a bit from the Germans). All around, a very healthy meal, right? We also saw some people we hadn’t seen since orientation which was funny/awkward.

It was difficult to get a good picture of all the trucks, so it looks a little pathetic here.

It was difficult to get a good picture of all the trucks, so it looks a little pathetic here.

Then on Sunday, I met up with a friend to go to a cafe I have been wanting to check out for weeks. It’s about a 20 minute walk from my apartment, so instead of dealing with the circular metro line, which is the slowest thing possible especially on a Sunday, I got some fresh air and walked on over. It’s also nice to see other neighborhoods. The metro is very convenient, but you miss out on what is above ground. It’s a very small cafe (like every place here), so we had to wait a little bit before getting seated. They specialize in tea, and the place is also a flower shop. While we were enjoying some tea and cakes, there was also some sort of photo shoot going on.

While waiting for my friend, so many people walked by this place and commented on how cute it is. I agree!

While waiting for my friend, so many people walked by this place and commented on how cute it is. I agree!

That’s it for my weekend. Sadly, some sort of sickness has struck again! Not sure if it’s the beginning of a cold or just allergies, but I’m so tired of my throat hurting. Seems like every time I get sick, it starts with a sore throat. Just hoping all this clears up before my vacation begins!

5 thoughts on “Weekend Mini Adventure

  1. Joe H. Sowders says:

    Thanks again for an update of your weekend in Madrid. Sometimes we tend to ignore things nearby. I’m sure you will enjoy London as I have. I’ve been there three times and I could spend a month and never run out of things to see or do. Here’s hoping you get to feeling better for your jaunt across the pond to the UK. Please send me your take on your London visit.

    Love,
    Papa Joe

    Like

  2. Dad says:

    Get well soon Sweetie.
    Dad
    P.S. Who is your friend?

    Like

  3. Lynn says:

    Just spent some time catching up with all your jaunts here and there. Great pictures, as usual, and also, as usual, love your captions for. Definitely hear your “voice” and you still make me laugh. Very, very excited for you and your parents since you will be together in little more than one week. Know you will all have a wonderful, wonderful time. ENJOY! 🙂

    Like

  4. Gail Pearson says:

    I Love your precious papa comment above not to mention your sassy cupcake wars throw down.
    Miss you Lauren. I’d love a spot of tea at that little shop with y’all.

    Like

Leave a Reply

