Carnaval

Lucky for me, today was my last day of work this week, and I’m headed to Dublin tomorrow morning. Today, we celebrated Carnaval at school, and it was a pretty fun day despite the (usual) technical difficulties. I’m not gonna pretend to be an expert on this holiday and will instead kindly link you to this wikipedia page. Carnaval is celebrated in many countries, and it’s a pretty big deal in Spain. Everyone dresses up in costumes (similar to Halloween in the United States) and parties, parties, parties. At my school, the teachers were supposed to dress up as “rock stars,” which mostly translated to 80’s punk rock. I was told about this a day before our celebration, and I can’t say my wardrobe is very extensive here, so my costume consisted of me wearing black and sunglasses. Each grade had a different theme. My little 1st graders dressed up as instruments, and some of the costumes were really awesome! I’ll share some pics I took today.

The kids were super excited to

The kids were super excited to “disfrazarse” AKA put on their costumes. Some of these parents went all out, and others were a bit sad, but I attempted to keep everyone happy.

Getting kids together to take a picture is about the most impossible thing to do. Standing still is not their strong suit. Also, one kid always gets pouty (see the girl in the pink guitar).

Getting kids together to take a picture is about the most impossible thing to do. Standing still is not their strong suit. Also, one kid always gets pouty (see the girl in the pink guitar).

Cheered her up a bit. Let's just say this wins most awkward costume. Took us 5 minutes to get it on.

Cheered her up a bit. Let’s just say this wins most awkward costume. Took us 5 minutes to get it on.

One of the student teachers really worked this wig.

One of the student teachers really worked this wig.

Here are the student teachers working in the English classes for several weeks. I'll post later about them and some other, everyday teaching updates.

Here are the 4 student teachers working in the English classes for several weeks. I’ll post later about them and some other, everyday teaching updates.

Some punk rock teachers.

Some punk rock teachers.

After some hot chocolate and cake, we went outside to perform our dances. Here are some of my 1st graders.

After some hot chocolate and cake, we went outside to perform our dances. Here are some of my 1st graders.

Great day for taking selfies with 6-year-olds! This is Lucía, one of my favorite students (and her English is improving!).

Great day for taking selfies with 6-year-olds! This is Lucía, one of my favorite students (and her English is improving!).

Here are Javi(er) and Víctor, from left to right. Javi is probably one of the cutest, gentlest kids I've met (and his twin brother Carlos is a close second).

Here are Javi(er) and Víctor, from left to right. Javi is probably one of the cutest, gentlest kids I’ve met (and his twin brother Carlos is a close second).

And... here's Ivan, who likes to be the center of attention.

And… here’s Ivan, who likes to be the center of attention.

Alonso is almost always stirring up trouble and almost never doing his work. But today he was pretty cute.

Alonso is almost always stirring up trouble and almost never doing his work. But today he was pretty cute.

While waiting half an hour on the sound system to start functioning again, the kids got a bit antsy. I call this photo,

While waiting half an hour on the sound system to start functioning again, the kids got a bit antsy. I call this photo, “Please Get Off of Me.”

Each grade starting with the 3-year-olds had a themed costume and song and dance. No pics of my kids dancing since I joined in with them. Being stupid with little kids is the best!

Each grade starting with the 3-year-olds had a themed costume and song and dance. No pics of my kids dancing since I joined in with them. Being stupid with little kids is the best!

Had to grab a picture of our director hanging out the window in his wig.

Had to grab a picture of our director hanging out the window in his wig.

Here are some 3-year-olds looking like baby mobsters and flappers. I was cracking up when I walked by them, and they mostly looked confused.

Here are some 3-year-olds looking like baby mobsters and flappers. I was cracking up when I walked by them, and they mostly looked confused.

And we end the celebration by burning a sardine. This one was made out of paper, and each kid wrote down something bad they want to go away then stuffed it in the sardine, so I guess it's symbolic. Still not sure why it's a sardine though.

And we end the celebration by burning a sardine. This one was made out of paper, and each kid wrote down something bad they want to go away then stuffed it in the sardine, so I guess it’s symbolic. Still not sure why it’s a sardine though.

I’ll make sure to have plenty of photos from Dublin to share next week!

2 thoughts on “Carnaval

  1. Julie says:

    You hit the nail on the head with your observations about little kids!! It truly is like herding cats. Have a great time in Dublin. I luuuvvvvvv your blog!!! And you, too, of course. Take care. Will there be watermelon in Dublin? (tee hee)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Dad says:

    “Burning a sardine” seems like a good euphemism for something. I’ll take some pics of Dublin for you, too!
    Love you, Dad

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

