Chinese for Christmas

Hello again! The back-to-school grind has been sapping a lot of my energy, so I’m a bit slow to update you all on the rest of my trip. This post will be about my 3 or so days in Prague. Once again, I’m going to let my pictures tell most of the story. In general, Prague is a very quaint and cute city. It’s a lot smaller than Berlin and is very walkable. It felt very “Christmas-y” to me and getting a decently sized beer for $1-2 is pretty amazing to me! I definitely enjoyed my time in Prague, but I’m not sure if I would say it’s a “must-see” city in Europe. But if you’re in the area, why not go! A train to Prague isn’t too expensive. Just watch out for that conversion rate since they use the koruna instead of euros (and guess what, there are women on the money!).

View while on the train from Berlin to Prague. The forests and cliff sides along the way kind of reminded me of Missouri.

View while on the train from Berlin to Prague. The forests and cliff sides along the way kind of reminded me of Missouri.

We started our day with a (free!) tour of the city. Here our tour guide Filip (the guy with his hands up) told us all about Prague and King Charles IV,

We started our day with a (free!) tour of the city. Here our tour guide Filip (the guy with his hands up) told us all about Prague and King Charles IV, “the greatest king there ever was!” (We were constantly reminded of this.)

The Astronomical Clock. I thought it was pretty cool, but Filip introduced it by saying,

The Astronomical Clock. I thought it was pretty cool, but Filip introduced it by saying, “I bet you’re disappointed.” This was a recurring theme for him. Apparently, Czechs get a kick out of other people’s disappointment (a sort of schadenfreude).

The Powder Tower. Used to house gun powder.

The Powder Tower. Used to house gun powder. Czechs are great at naming buildings. The Old New Synagogue is my favorite (not seen here).

Ceiling picture #152. I've lost count.

Ceiling picture #152 or something. I’ve lost count.

Several directors have filmed in Prague instead of Paris since it's so much cheaper. Bet you've been fooled by this.

Several directors have filmed in Prague instead of Paris since it’s so much cheaper. Bet you’ve been fooled by this.

I'd believe someone if they said this was Paris.

I’d believe someone if they said this was Paris.

The Estates Theatre. Apparently, people were obsessed with Mozart here, and this is where he premiered his opera, Don Giovanni.

The Estates Theatre. Apparently, people were obsessed with Mozart here, and this is where he premiered his opera, Don Giovanni.

Here's this creepy statue outside the theatre. I forgot what the significance of it even was (and someone decided to steal the name plate). All I remember is Filip talking about putting a baby inside and taking a picture.

Here’s this creepy statue outside the theatre. I forgot what the significance of it even was (and someone decided to steal the name plate). All I remember is Filip talking about putting a baby inside and taking a picture.

Statue dedicated to Franz Kafka just at the edge of the Jewish Quarter. Kafka was born in Prague.

Statue dedicated to Franz Kafka just at the edge of the Jewish Quarter. Kafka was born in Prague. No clue who that girl is.

Some architecture that reminded me a bit of houses in San Francisco.

Some architecture that reminded me a bit of houses in San Francisco.

From here you can see Prague Castle in the distance. Spoiler alert: The actual castle burned down and what you're really seeing is St. Vitus Cathedral.

From here you can see Prague Castle in the distance. Spoiler alert: The actual castle burned down and what you’re really seeing is St. Vitus Cathedral.

We had a good time trying to make this guard outside the

We had a good time trying to make this guard outside the “Castle” laugh. He did smile once.

Gothic architecture at its finest.

Gothic architecture at its finest.

Inside the cathedral was some amazingly colorful and bright stained glass.

Inside the cathedral was some amazingly colorful and bright stained glass.

Another view of the St. Vitus Cathedral. From this angle, you can see not only the Gothic architecture but then the later addition of the Renaissance style.

Another view of the St. Vitus Cathedral. From this angle, you can see not only the Gothic architecture but then the later addition of the Renaissance style.

One the sun started setting, the cathedral and Christmas tree were both lit up making for a beautiful view.

One the sun started setting, the cathedral and Christmas tree were both lit up making for a beautiful view.

By the time our second tour finished (1st was of the city, 2nd of the

By the time our second tour finished (1st was of the city, 2nd of the “Castle”), it had already grown pretty dark, and I was able to snag this picture overlooking the city.

We ended this day by walking around even more Christmas markets, grabbing some dinner, having a drink, and enjoy the festive Christmas lights.

We ended this day by walking around even more Christmas markets, grabbing some dinner, having a drink, and enjoying the festive Christmas lights.

This picture oddly sums up my Christmas day. It didn't really feel like Christmas since I was away from home, but I did fulfill a (small) lifelong dream of eating Chinese on Christmas. I had to take a picture of this part of the menu because Arizona pomegranate green tea is my favorite tea but stupidly hard to find in the U.S. And I found it in the Czech Republic...

This picture oddly sums up my Christmas day. It didn’t really feel like Christmas since I was away from home, but I did fulfill a (small) lifelong dream of eating Chinese on Christmas. I had to take a picture of this part of the menu because Arizona pomegranate green tea is my favorite tea but stupidly hard to find in the U.S. And I found it in the Czech Republic…

Our last day in Prague, we spent walking around some more and checking out anything we didn't quite get to see on the tour. Here is a picture overlooking the Vltava River while on the Charles Bridge (named after the greatest king there ever was!).

Our last day in Prague we spent walking around some more and checking out anything we didn’t quite get to see on the tour. Here is a picture overlooking the Vltava River while on the Charles Bridge (named after the greatest king there ever was!).

Also on the bridge, a statue of Saint John of Nepomuk, who ironically died because he was thrown off a bridge (oh Czech humor).

Also on the bridge, a statue of Saint John of Nepomuk, who ironically died because he was thrown off a bridge (oh Czech humor).

This old man got so much enjoyment out of playing his music.

This old man got so much enjoyment out of playing his music.

Chimney cakes could be found across the city. Their name comes from their similar appearance to a chimney. Dough is spun around a sort of spit that turns over a fire and butter, sugar, and cinnamon are applied while cooking.

Chimney cakes could be found across the city. Their name comes from their similar appearance to a chimney. Dough is spun around a sort of spit that turns over a fire and butter, sugar, and cinnamon are applied while cooking.

Made some animals friends at one point. Also got yelled out for petting a pony (why put an animal that people shouldn't pet in a petting zoo???).

Made some animals friends at one point. Also got yelled at for petting a pony (why put an animal that people shouldn’t pet in a petting zoo???).

Another Christmas tree. This one was in the Old Town Square in front of the Tyn Church.

Another Christmas tree. This one was in the Old Town Square in front of the Tyn Church.

Stumbled upon this door and immediately though of all my Kansans.

Stumbled upon this door and immediately thought of all my Kansans.

Back over the Charles bridge at the end of the day.

Back over the Charles Bridge at the end of the day.

The Prague airport was pretty cool (and really empty). Here you can see a giant

The Prague airport was pretty cool (and really empty). Here you can see a giant “Sorry!” game and chess too. Some of the little kids playing with them were the same size as the pieces.

There was even a Lego model of the airport!

There was even a Lego model of the airport!

Pretty sure I looked like a 5-year-old when I pushed a button and the model started lighting up and moving.

Pretty sure I looked like a 5-year-old when I pushed a button and the model started lighting up and moving.

Next post will be about my trip to Paris over New Year’s! Hope everyone’s year is off to great start and take comfort that it is probably colder in Madrid than where you are now!

3 thoughts on “Chinese for Christmas

  1. Dad says:

    Great pics, Sweetie! Prague is a lot more interesting than I would have guessed.
    Dad

    Like

  2. dcmason83 says:

    Glad you were able to have Chinese food for Christmas! Unless the dog runs off with the turkey, we probably won’t ever have Chinese for Christmas dinner. We missed you at Christmas, just wasn’t the same without you. Thank you Prague for having my daughter’s favorite iced tea (it’s a Christmas miracle :D); now if we could just find her some here in the States! I would have loved to have seen that Lego airport; I’m glad you pressed the button – you know I would have! As always, loved seeing your pictures. Looking forward to seeing your Paris photos. 3> Mom

    Like

Leave a Reply

