Eis, Eis, Baby

¡Feliz año nuevo, todos! It’s been awhile, and I hope you’ve all had great holidays. I’ve taken a lot of photos and thought it might be best to make a post for each city I visited. First up was Berlin. I was there for about 3 days, and it was certainly very different from Madrid. I’m mostly going to show my time there through pictures, but I will say that Berlin is a unique city in that it has had to evolve so much over the years. It’s still a fairly new city compared to other sites in Europe, and I think my tour guide said it best: “Paris will always be Paris, but Berlin is becoming Berlin.” I learned so much during my short-time there and would definitely say it’s worth a visit. Maybe visit in the Spring though because after dreary overcast days and early sunsets, the chilling history of this city can really put a damper on your mood. But this city and its residents have done a good job of acknowledging their dark history and memorializing those lost.

I'm not clever enough to think of a good title for my post, so I stole it from this sign that made me laugh.

I’m not clever enough to think of a good title for my post, so I stole it from this sign that made me laugh.

Our first day landed us at the Brandenburg Gate. A menorah and Christmas can be seen behind it.

Our first day landed us at the Brandenburg Gate. A menorah and Christmas can be seen behind it.

While walking around, we stumbled upon the Berliner Dom, an absolutely beautiful cathedral.

While walking around, we stumbled upon the Berliner Dom, an absolutely beautiful cathedral.

This is a memorial to the murdered Jews of Europe. It doesn't have any clear-cut meaning and is rather up to the viewer to interpret. As you walk further into it, the blocks get higher and higher. There are other memorials in the city to other victims of the Holocaust who were not Jews. Underneath is a museum with firsthand accounts of the Holocaust including heartbreaking letters from parents to their separated children and stories of the atrocities of concentration and extermination camps.

This is a memorial to the murdered Jews of Europe. It doesn’t have any clear-cut meaning and is rather up to the viewer to interpret. As you walk further into it, the blocks get higher and higher. There are other memorials in the city to other victims of the Holocaust who were not Jews. Underneath is a museum with firsthand accounts of the Holocaust including heartbreaking letters from parents to their separated children and stories of the atrocities of concentration and extermination camps.

My friends and I spent several hours in a museum devoted to European history. I can't tell you how many flashbacks I had to my AP European history course. This is just one of the pieces of history in this huge museum that starts in the Middle Ages and ends at present day.

My friends and I spent several hours in a museum devoted to European history. I can’t tell you how many flashbacks I had to my AP European history course. This is just one of the pieces of history in this huge museum that starts in the Middle Ages and ends at present day.

Humboldt University. Home to some very famous people such as Albert Einstein and 28 other Nobel prize winners.

Humboldt University. Home to some very famous people such as Albert Einstein and 28 other Nobel prize winners.

Nighttime was perfect from strolling around Christmas markets. And glühwein was a must (hot spiced wine). At most any market you could get hot wine, potato chips, plenty of sweets, chocolate covered fruits, currywurst, and ornaments. I definitely spent a lot of time eating a these. One of my favorite foods my friends and I dubbed "funnel poppers." They tasted exactly like a funnel cake but were in the shape of little balls.

Nighttime was perfect for strolling around Christmas markets. And glühwein was a must (hot spiced wine). At most any market you could get hot wine, potato chips, plenty of sweets, chocolate covered fruits, currywurst, and ornaments. I definitely spent a lot of time eating these. One of my favorite foods my friends and I dubbed “funnel poppers.” They tasted exactly like a funnel cake but were in the shape of little balls.

Just a small glimpse of the candy you could buy at most any Christmas market.

Just a small glimpse of the candy you could buy at most any Christmas market.

Plenty of handcrafted goods too.

Plenty of handcrafted goods too.

Matryoshkas everywhere!

Matryoshkas everywhere!

These "tools" are actually chocolate!

These “tools” are actually chocolate.

Found Capri Sun of all places.

Found Capri Sun in Berlin of all places.

Another market we visited felt more like a fair. I was super tempted to go on a ride but had also just eaten a lot...

Another market we visited felt more like a fair. I was super tempted to go on a ride but had also just eaten a lot…

Definitely saved room for cotton candy though.

Definitely saved room for cotton candy though.

Different bears could be found around the city (reminded me of when those cows were all over Kansas City). These one was by far my favorite since I love the Olympics.

Different bears could be found around the city (reminded me of when those cows were all over Kansas City). This one was by far my favorite since I love the Olympics.

This funny little crosswalk guy is called Ampelmann. He has a weird history but his appearance with a little hat was used to get pedestrian's attention after a history of many accidents.

This funny little crosswalk guy is called Ampelmann. He has a weird history but his appearance with a little hat was used to get pedestrian’s attention after a history of many accidents.

One of the best chai lattes I've had! Been trying to recreate it (unsuccessfully) ever since.

One of the best chai lattes I’ve had! Been trying to recreate it (unsuccessfully) ever since.

And of course a giant beer was eventually called for. When in Germany!

And of course a giant beer was eventually called for. When in Germany!

After a cloudy, dark day, this car was a cute surprise.

After a cloudy, dark day, this car was a cute surprise.

Most of the Berlin Wall has been torn down, but this bricks serve to show where it once was.

Most of the Berlin Wall has been torn down, but these bricks serve to show where it once was.

A remaining part of the Berlin Wall.

A remaining part of the Berlin Wall.

A guard tower can be seen on the far left. Much of the Wall and the security surrounding it is gone, but a museum nearby detailed what it once looked like.

A guard tower can be seen on the far left. Much of the Wall and the security surrounding it is gone, but a museum nearby detailed what it once looked like.

Named "Stalin's Lawn" these spikes were placed near the Wall so that anyone who tried to escape would be gruesomely impaled...

Named “Stalin’s Lawn” these spikes were placed near the Wall so that anyone who tried to escape would be gruesomely impaled…

Checkpoint Charlie. The divide between the Americans and Soviets during the Cold War.

Checkpoint Charlie. The divide between the Americans and Soviets during the Cold War.

Opposite side of the sign.

Opposite side of the sign.

An S-Bahn station. The metro was fairly easy to navigate besides the extremely long station names.

An S-Bahn station. The metro was fairly easy to navigate besides the extremely long station names.

We were able to visit another museum (a part of "Museum Island" which features 5 museums), the Pergamon, which contains Hellenistic, Babylonian, Assyrian, Sumerian, and Islamic art and archaeology. Here is the reconstruction of the Ishtar Gate.

We were able to visit another museum (a part of “Museum Island” which features 5 museums), the Pergamon, which contains Hellenistic, Babylonian, Assyrian, Sumerian, and Islamic art and archaeology. Here is the reconstruction of the Ishtar Gate.

Seeing things at this museum also brought back memories of my Ancient and Medieval Art and Archaeology course.

Seeing things at this museum also brought back memories of my Ancient and Medieval Art and Archaeology course.

Spot the grammar mistake!

Spot the grammar mistake!

A collection of ancient cylinder seals used to stamp an image as a sort of signature.

A collection of ancient cylinder seals used to stamp an image as a sort of signature.

A LOT of tapestries in here, and I was surprised by how vibrant they still were.

A LOT of tapestries in here, and I was surprised by how vibrant they still were.

Add this to my collection of ceiling pictures.

Add this to my collection of ceiling pictures.

I think Islamic art is absolutely beautiful with its deep colors and intricacies.

I think Islamic art is absolutely beautiful with its deep colors and intricacies.

And finally, don't know what this creature is, but it made me laugh.

And finally, don’t know what this creature is, but it made me laugh.

Speaking of things that made me laugh, my friend tried to take a picture of me in front of this cathedral but the people on the left wouldn't leave. This is the last picture of a series of me trying to pose and eventually giving up.

Speaking of things that made me laugh, my friend tried to take a picture of me in front of this cathedral, but the people on the left wouldn’t leave. This is the last picture of a series of me trying to pose and eventually giving up.

I heard good reviews of this Kebab place, and apparently, so had everyone else. We waited 45 minutes, but it was really good.

I heard good reviews of this Kebab place, and apparently, so had everyone else. We waited 45 minutes, but it was really good.

Devoured this quickly.

Devoured this quickly.

Hope you enjoyed the photos! My next post will be about my time in Prague.

2 thoughts on “Eis, Eis, Baby

  1. Dad says:

    Really enjoying your pictures (especially the ones with you in them). I found the grammar mistake. The German sign maker could use ein korrektor.

    Like

  2. dcmason83 says:

    Love the title of your post. So many great pictures; I love seeing Europe through your eyes. The pic of you with the bear is so you, one for your collection (and better than a cow). Berlin, a city with so much history – good and bad. Beautiful none the less. I should probably never go to Germany during Christmas Market, I would have a hard time not buying tons of Christmas decorations. PS – The German sign maker should “loose” his job!

    Like

Leave a Reply

