Oh Yeah… I Went on a Trip

Not a big trip, but I remembered I forgot to post pictures of a recent day trip to a town called Toledo. It was a quick 30-minute train ride to the town, and I spent most of the day there with a friend walking around and visiting some noteworthy sites. Despite losing my return train ticket (a man was nice enough to reprint it for me) and a deceivingly long walk back in the dark to the station in which I almost thought we were lost (I had to rely on instinct rather than Google maps since my phone died), it was a rather nice day with pleasant weather. The pictures (and my short captions) will mostly speak for themselves!

Even the tiny train station was pretty!

Even the tiny train station was pretty!

First view of the town as we walked in from the train station.

First view of the town as we walked in from the train station.

Very sunny day.

Very sunny day.

View overlooking the town after climbing many stairs only to find out there's an elevator...

View overlooking the town after climbing many stairs only to find out there’s an elevator…

We were able to visit a synagogue. It was interesting to see a place of worship for another religion.

We were able to visit a synagogue. It was interesting to see a place of worship for another religion.

Add this to the pile of ceiling pics I take.

Add this to the pile of ceiling pics I take.

The courtyard of Monasterio de San Juan de los Reyes.

The courtyard of Monasterio de San Juan de los Reyes.

Another view of the courtyard. From this angle, I doubt you would guess this was taken in Spain.

Another view of the courtyard. From this angle, I doubt you would guess this was taken in Spain.

Inside the monastery. Napoleon burned down parts of the monastery in the early 1800s, but it has been restored since.

Inside the monastery. Napoleon burned down parts of the monastery in the early 1800s, but it has been restored since.

Chandeliers always remind me of Phantom of the Opera. Luckily, this one didn't not fall.

Chandeliers always remind me of Phantom of the Opera. Luckily, this one didn’t fall.

Some very impressive doors to Cathedral of Saint Mary of Toledo.

Some very impressive doors to Cathedral of Saint Mary of Toledo.

...and it's even more impressive from this angle.

…and it’s even more impressive from this angle.

Choosing an audio tour for this cathedral was a good choice.

Choosing an audio tour for this cathedral was a good choice.

Surprise. It's a ceiling picture.

Surprise. It’s a ceiling picture.

I spent a good hour and a half listening to the history of this cathedral. My European history teacher would be proud.

I spent a good hour and a half listening to the history of this cathedral. My European history teacher would be proud.

At one point in my audio tour, I even got a sampling of some organ music.

At one point in my audio tour, I even got a sampling of some organ music.

The architecture here was amazing. I put my art history knowledge to the test.

The architecture here was amazing. I put my art history knowledge to the test.

Toledo is apparently known for its sword making. The swords for Lord of the Rings were made here!

Toledo is apparently known for its sword making. The swords for Lord of the Rings were made here!

5 thoughts on “Oh Yeah… I Went on a Trip

  1. Tu mamá says:

    Awesome pics! Love the ceiling photos. My favorite picture is the blue one; reminds me of a starfish or an octopus. Glad you getting out and about and seeing the sights.

    Tu mamá

    Like

  2. blackswan says:

    Catholicism is all about the transcendentals of truth, goodness and beauty. Such exquisite architecture is a minuscule prefigurement of what awaits those who trust in God’s goodness. Wish I could be with you.

    Like

  3. Julie Davis says:

    If you have a chance, you should read the Ken Follett novels which describe the building of the cathedrals. The first novel, The Pillars of the Earth, is amazing!! The second novel, World Without End, was a gift from your father one Christmas. It is also amazing. I was able to read this novel of 500+ pages that winter because Matt, Emily, and I were off school for more than 8 days due to ice and snow. I have fond memories of the three of us sitting in the front room reading our novels. Matt and Emily were reading Harry Potter and I was reading World Without End. We had no electricity and had to sit in the room with southern exposure so we could at least see the print on the page through the cloud covered sky that was spitting ice and snow at us. We were warm though, because we had a fireplace. Such good memories!! Pat and I are thoroughly enjoying your blog. Keep it up!!

    Like

    • Lauren says:

      Thanks for the reading suggestion! I remember my mom reading those books, and I always meant to. I have fond memories too of the ice days we had in Kansas. I felt like we were on a camp out since we were huddled around a lantern playing games. Have a great Thanksgiving tomorrow! I’m sure you’ll be cooking up a storm. Tell Emily to eat some extra rolls for me.

      Like

  4. Lynelle Troyke says:

    Ha! Since I read it last, all I need to do is agree with Tu Mama–and the Follett novels! Happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

